Why was Derby right for me?

Emily B, HRSM

The main reason I chose the University of Derby was due to the variety of entry routes offered. This was perfect for me as I didn’t study traditional A Levels. By offering a foundation degree programme or an Access course, Derby enables people from all walks of life to study here.

After completing the foundation programme, I enrolled onto a full time Tourism Management degree at Derby, at the Buxton Campus. Ranked as the No. 1 UK University for degrees in Tourism, Hospitality, Events and Spa Management, it was obvious that continuing my studies at Derby was the right choice!

Now in my 2nd year, I have visited Ireland and Malta as part of the degree course, experiencing the tourism business first-hand. As well as the academic parts of these trips, we also got free time to explore and to give everybody a chance to get to know each other which helps to build a great community.

Regular opportunities to meet important industry employers such as Visit Peak District means I have already gained industry specific skills, making me as prepared as possible for my career ahead.

The lecturers are really engaging and are always there when you need extra advice or to point you in the right direction of some helpful contacts. You learn on a wide range of platforms, with spontaneous day trips not an uncommon occurrence, making the learning style varied and really enjoyable!

Once I have successfully completed my degree, I hope to move into the education side of tourism by becoming an education coordinator, liaising with schools and groups at a busy visitor attraction.  96.7% of last year’s graduates were in jobs or further study within 6 months of completing their degree, which is definitely a figure to boast about! Thanks to my degree and the support I have received whilst at Derby, I am confident I will be ready for the next challenge ahead of me – full time employment.

