Hello from Sakina!

Business, Sakina O
Sakina O

Sakina O – Business student

Hello!

I’m Sakina and I’m in my second year of a Joint Honours degree, studying Business Management and Maths.

I’m 35, a ‘mature’ student and mum to Daniel, aged 7 and Hannah aged 5. Just because I’m a little (ok, a lot!) older than some students, that doesn’t stop me having fun with everyone and really getting the most out of my time at uni.

I’m based at the Kedleston Road campus in Derby which is the main campus. Derby itself is a brilliant city that is very student friendly and has something for everyone, regardless of you taste in music or entertainment.

I was terrified when I returned to education that people would feel that I was too old and that I wouldn’t fit in with the other, younger students. My experience was totally the opposite and everyone was so welcoming and I’ve made some great friends in my time here who I know will be friends for life. Derby is a great (and very friendly!) place to learn, the lecturers really take the time to get to know you and their doors are always open should you need any extra help or advice.

Whatever you might be experiencing at uni, I can guarantee that another student will have felt exactly the same as you so please get in touch with me if you have any questions or concerns about your studies or life at university.

You can get in contact with me by emailing business@derby.ac.uk

Sakina-signature

Leave a Reply

